The Rosary

In the Rosary we focus on 20 events or mysteries in the life and death of Jesus and meditate on how we share with Mary in the redemptive work of Christ. Reading a pertinent passage from the Bible helps to deepen meditation on a particular mystery. The scriptural references given here are not exhaustive. In many instances, other biblical texts are equally suitable for meditation.

  • Begin the Rosary at the crucifix by praying the Apostles’ Creed
  • At each large bead, pray the Lord’s Prayer
  • At each small bead, pray the Hail Mary
  • At the first three beads it is customary to pray a Hail Mary for each of the gifts of faith, hope and love
  • For each mystery, begin with the Lord’s Prayer, then recite the Hail Mary ten times, and end with Glory Be to the Father.

Also: How to pray the Rosary (USCCB)

The Joyful Mysteries
(recited Monday and Saturday)

The Annunciation (Luke 1.26-38)
The Visitation (Luke 1.39-56)
The Nativity (Luke 2.1-20)
The Presentation (Luke 2.22-38)
The Finding in the Temple (Luke 2.41-52)

 The Mysteries of Light
(recited Thursday)

The Baptism of Jesus (Matthew 3.13-17)
The Wedding Feast of Cana (John 2.1-12)
The Proclamation of the Kingdom, with the call to Conversion (Mark 1.15)
The Transfiguration (Luke 9.28-36)
The Institution of the Eucharist (Matthew 26.26-29)

 The Sorrowful Mysteries
(recited Tuesday and Friday)

The Agony in the Garden (Matthew26.36-56)
The Scourging at the Pillar (Matthew 27.20-26)
The Crowning with Thorns (Matthew 27.27-30)
The Carrying of the Cross (Matthew 27.31-33)
The Crucifixion (Matthew 27.34-60)

 The Glorious Mysteries 
(recited Wednesday and Sunday)

The Resurrection (John 20.1-18)
The Ascension (Acts 1.9-11)
The Descent of the Holy Spirit (John 20.19-23)
The Assumption (John 11.26)
The Coronation of Mary Queen of Heaven and Earth (Philippians 2.1-11)

(including excerpts from Living With Christ)