Catechism of the Catholic Church

1 A summary of the principles of Christian religion in the form of questions and answers, used for religious instruction.
1.1 (in Roman Catholic use) religious instruction in general. “Powered by OXFORD”

  About the Catechism

The Catechism of the Catholic Church is the definitive reference guide to the Catholic faith. It arranges the material in four parts:

1 Creed – The Profession of Faith

The Christian mystery, the object of faith: it is what the Catholic Church believes and is summed up in the Creeds of the Church (The creedsThe Apostles’ Creed and The Nicene Creed) with the Holy Trinity (three persons in one God: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit) as the central mystery of the faith.

2 Sacraments – The Celebration of the Christian Mystery

How this Christian mystery is celebrated and communicated in liturgical actions, with pride of place given to the sacraments.

3 Morality – Life in Christ

This Christian faith is present to enlighten and sustain the children of God in their actions as explained beginning with the Ten Commandments and more completely by the Beatitudes. What does it mean to be human, to have dignity, and to be free? And what is the right use of our dignity and freedom?

4 Prayer – Christian Prayer

And finally, this faith is the basis for our prayer, the privileged expression of which is the Our Father, and it represents the object of our supplication, our praise and our intercession.

(Thanks to the Archdiocese of Vancouver for some of the material on this page)

Read online at USCCB

Read online at The Vatican

Catholic Parish of the Holy Name